notyourrawmama

“JUICING” WITH A VITAMIX BLENDER

Leave a comment

WHY IS JUICING SO BENEFICIAL? When the fiber is eliminated, all of the nutrients are much  easier for the body to digest and absorb, especially on an empty stomach. Using a juicer first thing in the morning was  something I did not look forward to. The juicer part clean up was and is  really off putting. Here is one viable  alternative…

“JUICING” MADE EASIER

I read in a Juice Feasting e-book by Angela Stokes about using a blender instead of a juicer for creating juice. This really appealed to me. One big obstacle to making juice is, as I mentioned before, the clean up time. I did do a Juice Feast [link here] for over 60 days earlier this year. Looking back, I wish I had experimented with this simple manner of juicing that involves a Vita-Mix [or other high powered blender] and a nut milk bag [link here].

Here is one example of a juice I prepare with great success using a Vita-Mix:

Place 2-3 stalks of cut up celery, kale, cucumber, one green apple, one half of a small lime or lemon and a small chunk of ginger. Sometimes I add a teeny bit of Jalepeno pepper. The high powered blenders have a component called a tamper that is used to push the ingredients deeper into the blender. Adding a small amount of purified water [ not from plastic bottles, link here] can help things blend more smoothly. As the vegetables get blended and reduced, you can add a few more ingredients, like some more cucumber or any of the above ingredients.

STRAINING

I use a pot or bowl to place  the nut milk bag in and drape it open over the sides of the pot so it remains stable. Pour the contents of the blended mixture inside the bag. You may want to do this in two parts, depending on how much volume you have in the blender. Carefully secure the top of the bag as you squeeze the contents out  so the fiber remains in the bag.

This method of extracting juice from fruits and vegetables has been a huge help for me in getting some really deeply needed nutrition. Not wanting to engage in the clean up of a juicer seems to be a common stumbling block for people.

BONUS

I use the fiber mixed  in our dogs food and they eat it right up.

ABOUT VITA-MIX

I have heard a couple of Raw Food chefs highly endorse the Vita-Mix for many reasons, primarily for durability. This is a great plus because of the price, which in the end really pays off. We have had ours for over ten years, use it daily and have never had a glitch with the motor. New blender containers are easily available and that can need replacing when the blade gets dull. Takes a lot of use for that to happen. Do some research, because there are others out there. It is also worth checking on e-bay and Craigslist to buy a used Vita-mix.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

