notyourrawmama

RAW FOOD DIET: “CHILLING EFFECTS”

Leave a comment

MAKING DECISIONS: FEAR vs INTUITION

When truly informed, there is really no reason to be tied to eating only raw foods,unless this is something that you really want to do.  Often when people find themselves craving cooked foods in the Fall and Winter seasons. they need to honor their intuition. If digestion is not that strong, eating raw food is not going to repair the deep seated cause. Doing some real soul searching, EFT [Emotional Freedom Technique], meditation about what to eat can help make a decision from a more centered place.

Just think about it: Why do so many long term raw vegan food eaters  live in warm climates?  [I know there are some who do not. Dr. Fred Bisci is one of them]. Besides the climate being friendly year round for growing vegetation. One major answer is that it is not easy to live in a place where there are cold winters, snow, etcetera if the diet being consumed is entirely to mostly raw foods. This is especially true for those who are eating a raw food diet because they have digestive weakness Blending foods to make them easier to digest is one aspect of the raw food diet that is helpful for many.

NO YOU [DI’IN’T]!

About ten or more years ago, David Wolfe [link here], and his co-authors [Nature’s First Law] wrote that “Cooked food is poison”. They did this with a straight face. Since that time, David Wolfe has matured and delivers valuable information with many diverse Health Practitioners. Many of these people do not advocate a raw food diet. One of them  is Donna Gates [link here]. She is the author of the Body Ecology Diet.

Donna Pessin The Unique Healing Program is the person, I have found, to compile the most comprehensive digestive and complete systemic healing program available. More at the end of this post.

QUESTIONS TO ASK YOURSELF

Does eating cold, raw foods 100% of the time feel too chilling for my system during the fall and winter seasons? Am I feeling as though I am a failure if I am not complying with a raw food regime? Is this raw food diet creating  social  isolation for me? Is it logistically practical to comply with 24/7? Am I making choices from a place of fear or centered intuition?

How we feel when we eat is really more important than what we are eating. It is not always possible to have the best quality food. It may not always be organic, locally grown, non GMO. This is a reality for many. Do the best we can and enjoy what is eaten in a grateful and relaxed way.

In the end it is never entirely about food. The same with money or any other substance. I have heard it said that money is  paper with a specific feeling attached to it. Whatever the substance is, it is important not to give our power away to our irrational fears.

As Ramatha [JZ Knight ] says in the film What the Bleep [link here], ” The body maybe the kingdom, but the mind is the king”.  I want to add to that one thing: what we ingest and how it is assimilated creates the quality of our blood. That blood flows into, and nurtures all our organs. This includes, and effects most especially, our brain.

To be consistently conscious about what is eaten is challenging. To be conscious about what comes out of my mouth is, hands down, the most difficult and rewarding decision I make. To be consciously aware is a moment to moment commitment. Workin’ on it.

As a postscript 11/2013: Check out Unique Healing Program Donna Pessin. I do believe this is, to my best knowledge, the most comprehensive gut healing programs available. 70+ videos on youtube, 2 books and a website to help you out. I am presently on this program and it has been worth my time and effort.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

