notyourrawmama

ZOCALO, L.A.: ARE WE OBSESSED WITH FOOD?

Leave a comment

DEPENDS ON WHO YOU ASK

On February 22, 2012 there will be a discussion entitled, ” DOES FOODIE CULTURE DO ANYONE ANY GOOD?” taking place in Los Angeles. I heard about it while listening to NPR station KPCC. Because Kaiser Permanente and Zocalo are the sponsors, I have some suspicion the answer will be,” AS LONG AS IT IS IN  MODERATION”. Does that make sense? I mean how can anyone be moderately obsessed? Maybe that is the case. Why? Well, in a society where there is such obsession with being thin, when so many are not, maybe the word moderation needs redefining.

The obsession with not eating is as coo coo making as the gourmet / foodie obsession that defines some peoples lives. And forget about the gourmet end of things, the junk food obsession is very much a reality in our world. Depending on where you live, take a drive, a walk, or turn on the tube. In 1989 while visiting Hong Kong and Tokyo I was surprised to see Mc Donald’s, and all the usual fast food suspects, soaking up prime real estate.

So, why am I writing this? Well, I am very aware of the role food plays in my life. How I use food to avoid doing tasks, feeling things. Attaching the idea of enjoyment, nourishment and comfort primarily with food is universally accepted. Diet change is not easy.

DO NOT F%#@K WITH MY FOOD

The idea of fasting brings up resistance from most people when first presented with the idea. The elimination of certain foods can cause visible-palpable panic. Food to many people is consciously or unconsciously their everything. Maybe that sounds extreme, but the focus on food is rarely about fuel for living. The Biggest Looser, The Food Channel, growing obesity in the world and fast food chains are strange bedfellows. Whole Foods is a place of worship for food. My point is that the obsession is so ingrained and seemingly normal, why would a person question it?

USING FOOD TO MAKE SOME SITUATIONS MORE PALATABLE

Over the past few years I have observed that meeting with people is most usually over a meal. I started to think  if food wasn’t involved, would that effect my decision about attending some social events? That one question really helped me see things from a new perspective. When I presented the idea of going for a walk or going to a museum to friends the reaction was mixed. For some it was a very out of the box concept. Why always meet over  food? Something to think about or chew on. Sorry, I could not resist.

For more information about the talk  “Does food culture do anyone any good?” click here.

As a postscript: The Unique Healing Program Donna Pessin is a program that I am currently a part of. If you want to heal your body so you can enjoy food, but not be a servant to it, check it out. NOT A  QUICK FIX. IT DOES WORKS AND I HAVE FOUND IT WELL WORTH THE EFFORT!

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

