notyourrawmama

SELLING THE RAW “TRUTH”

Leave a comment

Recently I have become more conscious of the use of superlatives in advertising within my own different areas of interest.  From healing spiritually, emotionally, physically to healing politically. One presentaion that really screamed of misguidance was  from an owner of the largest raw online food store, Matt Monarch. He entitled his video,”The Truth About Awakening”. I did listen to what he had to say. It came in two separate segments. He obviously was very inspired about what he said. This was made clear by his emphatic delivery, and time spent delivering his presentation.

I am not going to critique what he said, but I am here to comment on the title, The Truth About Awakening. Without getting all snarky and such, I just have to say that it is his truth and not thee truth. I am not sure if this is complete misguided arrogance or just what happens with some people. Some people meaning those that have constructed their own platform through business success.

Obviously, Mr. Monarch can say what he pleases, but calling his experience “the truth” needs to be questioned. It is similar to saying there is only one spiritual path, way to eat, live, marry, have children,etcetera. Looking back on other videos and information from Mr. Monarch, there is a thread of this kind of thinking throughout all his videos, articles and blogs.

With personal  experience, education, money and business success does not always come wisdom. I wish I could say that comes with time, but I have observed that is not true either. It can come with humility at an age. That is my truth.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a comment