notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: FINDING SUPPORT WHILE ON THIS PROGRAM

Leave a comment

THE THIN LINE BETWEEN SHARING EXPERIENCE AND GIVING ADVICE

I started this blog in late fall of 2011 and discovered The Unique Healing Program in December of 2012. I have found The Unique Healing Program to be an experience that I feel and know could benefit so many. I deeply recognize that, like everything, The UHP is not for everyone. This is a huge understatement, for many reasons. One being the level of commitment involved on several levels. Anyway, writing about The Unique Healing Program has been my way of expressing myself, reaching out to others, supporting those who are on the program and encouraging those considering doing it to give it a try.

As a Postscript 5/2014: I think doing The Unique Healing Program on any level is a good idea and worth pursuing. The amounts of clay recommended by Donna Pessin in her books and video may overwhelm some. It is a reason to feel that UHP is not worth doing unless large amounts of clay are being ingested. Start somewhere and if you are not getting results make an appointment with Donna Pessin. If that is not possible you probably need to start increasing or decreasing what you are taking in terms of all the UHP “ingredients” and get a better handle on the crutches she talks about in her videos and books.

I have had readers and people who know I am on The Unique Healing Program ask: Why is there no forum and support set up by Donna Pessin? Obviously, I can not answer that question for Donna Pessin, but I can stipulate from my experience within The UHP, my work in the past as a bodyworker-shiatsu therapist, colon therapist-nutritional coach and yoga teacher. Here are a few reasons:

The Unique Healing Program has a broad audience of people of many different health concerns. Some people on the program have been medically diagnosed with a chronic illness, while others are just sick of feeling sick. Some have tried both allopathic and alternative approaches to heal and have hit a wall. Amazingly, not all people need to be deeply convinced that Donna Pessin’s approach will work and just get on board. I am one of those people, but I had a long, long history of searching for better digestion. I chronicle my exerience in other blog posts.

My experiences that I mentioned in the first paragraph of this post, and my phone appointments with Donna Pessin have taught me how vulnerable and confused we can all be. Feeling less than well can intensify these feelings. I feel Donna Pessin is legitimately protective of her clients and has a deep understanding of the emotional and physical fragility that many people are dealing with [in general] while on The UHP. She may  not want advice given from the blind leading the blind. I really understand that. People can also say things in a flip and unconscious way. This can easily be problematic and unintentionally hurtful. When people are healing they are more agitated and fragile.  Look, this is my own experience in life coming to the surface here.

Another important point is that Donna Pessin has painstakingly made over 75 videos, written two books to help answer questions. She has done this so people can have their basic questions answered. Anything in more detail is really in need of a session with her. The private phone sessions are more than handholding. The feeling that someone gets what I am going through really helped me. Some of what I just wrote is why I started writing about my experience on The UHP.

People sharing their experience on The Unique Healing Program without the understanding that not everyone feels what they are feeling can be confusing to some and off putting to others. Not everyone understands that the road is rockier for some in the beginning, middle, on and off, more than less. It could take someone months to feel better and others a whole year or more.  It is truly as arbitrary as is our personal stories, family health, environmental factors and so much more.

I have a couple of other thoughts on this that I do not want to share in this blog. They are not about Donna Pessin or any fault of hers. If you want to email me I would be glad to share what these observations are. I would be glad to hear yours.

As a Postscript 5/2014: I think a forum could be a great asset to The Unique Healing Program. It takes time and energy to set this up and many people on the program are too busy healing to do this. Secondly, they are afraid of upsetting Donna Pessin by doing this and feel it is not worth it. This is sort of a shame, but the other things I mention above explain Donna Pessin’s possible resistance to having a forum she does not have time to oversee. These are all stipulations. Love to hear what you think.

I highly suggest giving The Unique Healing Program Donna Pessin a try at whatever level you are able and willing. Healing our digestion is, in my very long road of research and personal experience, the only way to improve health and prevent illness. Yes, I do believe preventing illness is possible.

If The Unique Healing Program does not appeal to you, then consider and investigate  The Body Ecology Diet. I followed The Body Ecology Diet for three years and it did not improve my gut. However, it may work for you. I do appreciate the information that Donna Gates has compiled. Some people do find it to be helpful. It is well written and will definitely educate you about other alternatives to healing. Check it out.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

