notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: DIGESTING FIBER WITHOUT SCREWING UP YOUR GUT USING BLENDED SALADS

Leave a comment

If you are having diarrhea, loose stools or other discomfort that is triggered by eating raw or cooked vegetables, here is an idea for a relatively low fiber salad. The blender breaks the fiber down making it easier to digest and less time consuming than chewing each mouthful until it is liquid. I also make this with steamed vegetables [hot soup] and will post a recipe for that when I have a chance. Not hard to figure out what to do, but glad to spell it out.

Combine in a high powered blender or whatever you have on hand:

Romaine lettuce 4-5 large leaves or less to scope out what you can tolerate, a bit of scallion, tiny bit of garlic, a bit of cilantro [herbs] for some extra flavor, salt, maybe some black pepper, olive oil, a bit of something acid – lemon or apple cider vinegar. I put in a few drops of stevia to taste. To thicken add one quarter to one half of an avocado. Add in 1/4 cup of purified water. Blend and taste to add more seasoning or water. You can add tomato and other things if you can eat them now without having a reaction. Blended salads and smoothies can be way more adventuress, but this is a simple recipe.

The idea is that blending predigests roughage and  some other foods. Still chew each mouthful a few times to mix the ingredients with the chyme in your mouth. DO NOT CHUG THIS. Had to say it. Sure you are probably past that if you are on UHP.

I use a digestive enzyme before eating. I ran that by Donna Pessin when starting the program and she concurred I should continue. I have to say, if she had disagreed I would have continued anyway. I have tried many enzymes over the years. Here are two I am currently using:

Doctor’s Best and HCL by Solaray. These two are relatively inexpensive and they work for me. I have purchased many brands of Systemic and all other kinds of enzymes before finding UHP. If you have suggestions I would be glad to hear and share.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

