notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: OXALATE FOODS THAT MAY TRIGGER SYMPTOMS

Leave a comment

DISCOMFORT AFTER EATING SOMETHING COMFORTING

Maybe this will help someone out there.

I have known about the effects of Nightshades for many, many years. Many foods high in oxalic acid are in the Nightshade Family. A person who is part of The Unique Healing Program told me about Oxalates and an Oxalate support group. Through this information I have been limiting my intake of foods hight in oxalic acid. This is something I have done consciously and unconsciously over the years. Why? Because many of these foods just did not set well with me. Indigestion at times. Also, I knew about the effects of Nightshade Foods linked to arthritis and forming more acidity in the body.

Last afternoon yesterday I made a stir fry with swiss chard as the main ingredient. A few hours after I had heightened sensitivity to sound, some skin itching, felt annoyed and out of the nowhere bloated, started sneezing and by midnight felt strangely somber in mood. An injured hip felt really uncomfortable. Swiss chard is a  vegetable I was eating regularly over the winter.  I did not realize it was an oxalate until looking at the Oxalate Forum and websites about six weeks ago. I do think eating it regularly created more joint discomfort and contributed to other agitation the past few month before I stopped eating it. For me, this was confirmed last night and this morning.

I have definitely noticed some lessening of symptoms after cutting out the swiss chard and lessening other oxalates over the past several weeks. Just putting this information out there. It may help your healing to be a bit easier and explain why sudden bumps in the road occur or won’t go away.

Just to be clear, I do not think foods high in oxalic acid cause the problem, but trigger what is already there. A body whose PH is already not balanced does not react well to more acid forming foods.  As we heal these foods should be less of a problem.

Facebook is another place to connect for Oxalate Support.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

