notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: GABA DOSAGES-FINDING WHAT WORKS

1 Comment

I just found one GABA explanation that is pretty simple and to the point. It provides information concerning some questions and physical responses that I am having since taking GABA. GABA is sort of an enigma to me. I have not reached a groove and determined how much exactly works for me. I do regret NOT taking the advice of Donna Pessin in increasing my dosage more agressively back when I started taking it. For whatever reason, it wasn’t  until 5 months or more into UHP that Donna Pessin recommended I take GABA. Who knows why, but something that was going on with me and her experience with others triggered her urgent recommendation of my taking it at that particular time.I think she has an updated version of her first book that has more information about GABA than the one I have.

HOW MUCH GABA IS TOO MUCH GABA?

At times I seem to need a increased amount of GABA, and I am not clear enough as to exactly why. I seem to need at least 3,000 mg  and have taken up to 12,000 mg in an hours time.  Why so much? I am not sure, but it is a biological need that am only now coming to terms with.  One in particular is that the anxiety that I have experienced over the years is something that seemed normal to me. My anxiety was outweighed by my friends, clients, neighbors and family. Seemed that way. Comparing myself  to others has created many a blind spot and provided some sort of comfort.  One the other side it isan inner voice that compares myself to others, which is an endless form of self torture. I have been working on that one for quite awhile.

I am starting to see that the more intense my symptoms from GABA the more I may need. This is something Donna Pessin speaks about in her video on dosage of supplements. The one thing I can tell you is that it is something each person has to experiment with and the dose does change and the need for it can change. You may need more now, less soon enough and even more later on down the line. Does this have to do with the stress that the body is going through when toxins are released from our organs, tissues, etcetera? My guess is yes.

I wrote a large portion of this post in March of this year, 2014. Recently, 5/2014 I found L-Theanine through a fellow UHP participant who discovered it through a physician. It was prescribed to enhance the effects of GABA. I am knew to L-Theanine, but so far I find it pretty amazing. It is helping me feel more relaxed, clear thinking and able to sleep more soundly. More about L-Theanine in a near future post. I found something that may be of help in understanding more about this amino acid L-Theanine that is produced in, where else, the gut!

Does Donna Pessin creator of The Unique Healing Program recommend L-Theanine? As far as I know it is not in her books or videos. I have not asked her. Do some research and see what you feel and think about L-Theanine. One thing I can say is that I would not know about GABA or L-Theanine if it was not for Donna Pessin. One thing leads to another. Also, The Unique Healing Program is what makes all these “crutch” supplements work so well. If you don’t know what the word “crutch” means in this context, read The UHP books or at least look at the videos. The are free on YouTube.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

One thought on “THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: GABA DOSAGES-FINDING WHAT WORKS

  1. To Whom It May Concern:

    I am also on the Donna Pessin program and I am about 6 months into it. Finding some symptoms are worse, while I have dissected my diet one more time. Believe me though I have made huge strides on this program. Would love to speak with you.

    Gayle

Leave a Reply

