notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: DO “THE CRUTCHES” REALLY WORK?

1 Comment

YES, BUT… [WHAT IS A CRUTCH? FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW]

Sometimes those crutches don’t work as well as they did yesterday, or a week ago. The reasons are very subjective. Whatever is being released from the body in terms of acidity, toxic matter may outweigh the crutches ability to nullify the symptoms. Some fancy language there : ) More clay can help. But if you are like me and tend more toward constipation, before and while on The Unique Healing Program, more clay can sometimes end up making me feel more bound up and stressed. Donna may say use Magnesium Citrate as a solution and that does help. How much Mag Cit to use is another story. Experiment, videos and books, or ask Donna if you hit a wall.

I often take a much larger dose of some of the crutches than I originally considered a large dose when I began the program, and much later down the line. Much larger doses started  after being on The UHP 9 months to one year into it. Recently I discovered L-Theanine and that it seems to make the GABA I am taking more effective. L -Theanine, for me, has been effective on its own-I took it the  first time without GABA. How do I experience that? I feel more centered, focused, upbeat, relaxed. However, as with all the crutches, I often hit a wall and I am never exactly sure why. The past few weeks I have some symptoms that come and go. The last few days they have parked themselves in my joints.

PAIN

I have had some injury to my body from athletic and dance pursuits that were compounded by other choices. This all has added up to accumulated acidity. Acidity that got worse from cleansing diets that I was under the impression would lead to healing. They  would have been way more  healing if I had found The Unique Healing Program to partner with them. A substance like Sodium Bentonite Clay is necessary to help absorb the acids from a diet that helps break down toxins, but does not help them exit out. Finding the right amount of clay is crucial. A cleansing diet + nothing to absorb the toxins + an unhealthy gut =’s a recipe for pain. One example of a cleansing diet meeting that description would be The Body Ecology Diet – Donna Gates. Or a raw food diet that Dr. Fred Bisci might recommend to a patient. They may heal some people with constipation, etcetera- they did not heal mine.

FINDING THE RIGHT “CRUTCH” DOSAGE

So, finding the right amount of the “crutch” dosage is crucial. The amounts change, and I have needed more and less and more and and a little less as I have gone along. Also, sometimes when I am experiencing an outbreak of symptoms, eating way more simply, without a whole lot of cleansing foods helps. Donna’s one definition of more mainstream cleansing foods- high carb diet, sugar, refined foods vs the  other version, which is juice fasting [even on green juices], lots of lemon, garlic, spicy, Kombucha, fermented coconut water are a few examples. I remember once reading a comment  below one of Donna’s videos. The person wanted to know if they should drink more clay if doing The Master Cleanse. Her answer was an emphatic YES! The Master Cleanse is prime example of how the word cleanse is used today. When I first came upon Donna Pessin and her videos I was sort of confused by her use of the term cleanse. I had never thought of the outbreak of symptoms from refined carbs as being cleansing. Interesting.

I know it is important to reread The Unique Healing Program Books, especially the first one and watch the videos. I have interpreted what is said differently each time. It is easy for me to hear things the way I want or need to depending on my state of my health and mind.

Try that and see if it helps. Sometimes doing The Unique Healing Program can feel like wheels spinning. Watching Donna Pessin’s videos can be very consoling and remind me of why I am doing her program. Some days, weeks, months are harder than others. Just being honest.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

One thought on “THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: DO “THE CRUTCHES” REALLY WORK?

  1. Pingback: THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: FEELING SICK, AYE? | notyourrawmama

Leave a Reply

