notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: SUMMER HEAT AND HEALING SYMPTOMS

10 Comments

SOME BASIC INFO AND INSIGHTS

Traditional Asian Medical Theory says that within the body, the Heart and Small Intestines are most active in the summer. What does that mean in a nutshell? Well, the element for Summer is Fire and these two organs will be tested and strained a bit when the heat is turned up externally. The effects are internal. Click here for some easy to digest information about summer- fire and the heart and small intestines. The few recipes included alongside the more pertinent information look delicious.You may want to wait on them or tweak them a bit if you are on The UHP. Thank you to chef Aine McAteer and Oprah.com.

Last summer, a relative newbie to The Unique Healing Program, I got hit pretty hard with feelings of deep tiredness. I ended up taking mid day siestas. Learning how to rest is an important element to healing. Read that one again. I need to read that one again. It is true. Anyway, that tiredness would often come  somewhere between the hours of 11 am to 2 pm. The time the Heart and Small Intestines are most active 11 am to 3 pm. Also a time when heart attacks- myocardial infarctions often occur. Heart attacks also  happen during sleep, maybe around that 11 pm to 3 am period time, as well? Poor sleep is a strong comment on heart health, no matter what your age.

What has been worse for me during the Summer and a few weeks before the season?  I am seeing some flair ups 15 months into The Unique Healing Program. Here is a short list:

HEAT AND AN INCREASE OF INFLAMMATION

Joint pain inflammation in my weak areas. Right hip, sciatic pain. Some manipulation helps and keeping the gut moving, absorption of acids with Sodium Bentonite Clay, less carbs after 2 – 4 pm. Also. cutting back on carbs since the spring has really helped me lessen my symptoms. Someone on UHP told me they went to 25 grams a day. I did this and did find myself to be less symptomatic. Something to think about if you are experiencing itching and other annoying symptoms that I find are triggered by flour products, especially wheat.

HEAT, CARBOHYDRATES AND SKIN INFLAMMATION

Skin inflammations got worse. Anything that was red got redder. Good News, this year this is way better. My ear irritation, which was really, really bad is almost non- existent. It did take almost one year to clear and sustain that  improvement. I think if I had ditched organic whole grain bread – flour products completely, my ears may have not acted up quite as much. Live and learn. May need a few lifetimes to get this all straight.  Anyway, there was a period of one or two months during UHP where I was eating some kind of bread 5 out of 7 days a week. I knew I was in trouble when I looked at how many grams of carbs was in one slice and started to actually feel a bit “panicked”. What was I going to do without my bwead. The w is intentional.

SLEEP

My sleep was not good for at least 8 years before finding The UHP.This summer my sleep is much improved from last year at this time. A huge turnaround one year later. Not perfect, but I am grateful! Now that summer is here – approaching- my sleep has been a bit less steady. I am taking more Cal Cit and GABA, L-Theanine to make up for it. Which brings me to ….

LIGHT SENSITIVITY

These symptoms have a variety of intensities for everyone who has this issue. There are different levels of this annoying manifestation of a Lymph System that needs help. This UHP really has healed this  problem for me in a big way. My light sensitivity was mostly to” ugly “indoor lighting, florescent lighting, and just being particular to lighting. Okay, so to many that may not sound so extreme, but I learned after moving from a dark apartment in NYC – 25 years, to a skylit condo in the desert of So Cal, that I can easily become agitated by light.

LIVING IN A DRY OR HUMID PLACE

One observation is that mold, parasites, and other bacteria often grow and flourish is dark moist places. The sun and dryness of the desert is not conducive to the proliferation of these things. Too bad just living here does not kill them off! It should, it is the end of May and the triple digit temperatures have already paid a visit.

My first hand experience this Summer – Pre Summer is that I am having more intense “gut experiences”. I feel they are related to my Small Intestines clearing some things out. Summer is a the time when the Small Intestines / Heart are, according to Chinese Medicine, under more  stress. One thing to note is that there is a theory, which I am sure is true, that the Small Intestines is where our food is transmuted into blood. Since the paired organ with the SI is the Heart, the heat of Summer, the element of fire all come into play. Because I have been studying and exposed to this way of thinking since the early 80’s this all makes sense to me. If is sounds like gibberish to you, I can understand why. Maybe down the line aspects of this way of thinking might make some sense.

DIFFICULT MORNING HOURS

Waking up more agitated, worrying, thinking about what is wrong, could go wrong. These are all things I have been able to watch in myself, work at not buying into, at times just giving into, or talking myself out of. As crazy as this may sound to some people, after my gut is more empty in the morning, these feelings diminish. Okay, they can escalate some days and then diminish. That is a whole other story. I can actually watch how waves of depression are completely attached to the crud that is inside of me. Hope you are not  eating while your are reading this.If you are on The Unique Healing Program, it will probably take a whole lot more to make you sick!

AGITATION AND LETHARGY

Another Summer -Heat – Fire imbalance I have noticed is getting more agitated or tired toward the end of the day.  I have this imbalance all year. It has greatly improved on UHP, but I have noticed a bit of an upsurge since the Summer season is setting in. How exactly does that play out? Well, not knowing how to stop doing things, like another entity is running me. On the other end of the spectrum,  just not having the energy to do anything.

It is okay not to do anything, It is okay not to do anything, It is okay not to do anything. That is my mantra. The problem is that  I do not REALLY believe it, and that is not good. I have been learning to do less for many years now, but I have to be honest that there are times I have to force myself to stop. It is, more recently, increasingly easier. The truth is that feeling relaxed comes with a healthier gut and nervous system. I have experienced this first hand.

SWEET CRAVINGS AND SUMMER

Craving more sugary foods, lighter foods like sweet fruit, etcetera is normal in the hotter weather. Unfortunately, these foods trigger symptoms of Candida, acidic and toxic overload, parasites, etcetera. When our digestion and elimination is healthy eating these sweet foods in moderation is all good.The other end of the spectrum is the desire to consume mostly heavy foods in the summer. At time when your body needs to lighten up.

Doing more aggressive cleanses in the warmer weather is what many alternative practitioners advocate in the Spring and Summer. That can be seductive. Remember that on The Unique Healing Program you are consistently detoxing all the time in a much more highly managed and thorough way. I believe that keeping the diet as simple as I can creates stability earlier down the line. I know this one very well. I had a great deal to unlearn from my past cleansing, detox, juicing, juice feasting, raw food diet, etcetera past.

SUN EXPOSURE

I love the feeling of  sun on my body, however last year I found the heat and sun much less appealing. Enjoying it  more this year. Important to  know that blistering, sudden skin eruptions, unusual sun sensitivity is part of what you may experience while eliminating toxins on UHP. There are crutches to mitigate those symptoms, but they can be triggered by the summer heat.

The sun block business is booming due to the sun sensitivity, fear of the sun and ultimately poor health of so many. Look at the ingredients of what you are using when you do use sun protection. Buy the best you can in the Health Food Store or online. Our skin is the largest organ of the body and what we put on it is absorbed into our bloodstream.

If you feel really annoyed after being in the sun, more easily angered, you are not alone. Remember that summer, sun, heat and fire + a backed up gut = agitation. Drinking sugary drinks, especially alcohol while sitting in the sun is not a good idea for anyone. Can be mildly to extremely inflaming.

That is all for now. Hope what I write here allows you to know you are not alone in what you are experiencing, now and down the line, on The Unique Healing Program Donna Pessin.

notyourrawmama

 

 

 

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

10 thoughts on “THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: SUMMER HEAT AND HEALING SYMPTOMS

  1. Have you been in contact with anyone who has finished this program and results

  2. Hi Charles, I have been in contact with people who have been on UHP for over one to two years and have had continued results and improvement. Some with a daunting medical diagnosis. One other person on the program has spoken with two people over 65 who completed the program to their satisfaction. One is on a small dose of Sodium Bentonite Clay – 1 to 3 tbs a day and 1-3 Bowel Strength. The other takes the SB Clay on occasion. This was one year ago that I heard about these two people.

    It is an important issue as to why there are not more testimonials of people finishing The UHP program. Probably many people do not complete it. I think it is a very long commitment for many to all of us. I have some thoughts as to why there are not more testimonials, the length of time it takes to do the program and why people do not hang in there. Will write a post about it soon.

    I will answer your other question later today.

    Mary

    • Hi Mary,

      First I want to thank you for taking the time to keep this blog up, it has to be hard work! I have been on UHP for 6 months and have noticed huge improvements. Recently I learned about something called ‘geopathic stress’ and I believe it is something you will want to look into, as your rate of healing seems a bit behind the curve, which leads me to believe you may be effected by it.

      Thanks again for your blog, I try to turn as many people as I can to Donna’s program and your blog one of the site I refer people to.

      Jason

      • Hey Jason,

        Thank you for your comments. Can you recommend any particular site to look at online. Where else to look for some helpful insights. Took a quick look and the information is not unfamiliar to me. I do need to do more investigating. Thanks so much.

        I wanted to add to this response that I am not sure there is a curve to healing on The Unique Healing Program. I especially feel this after corresponding with several people. So many factors come into play as to how we all heal. Age. geographic location, city, water quality, family health, occupation, medical – dental history, service in the military. The number of variables is endless. Still interested in learning more about Geographic Stress. From what I can see it is Energetic Magnetic Field based.

        Mary

  3. Geopathic stress is caused by a number of things, smart meters, cell towers, (elf) radiant floor heat, under ground streams passing under your home. There are also Hartmann and Curry grids to be aware of. Information online is sporadic (kinda like healing your bowel) Do a search on Hartmann grids and cancer, should bring up a story about a small town in Germany with high cancer rates.

    Back to UHP. My personal experience is this..
    I started clay December 24, 2013, and started the Bowel Strength regimin about one month later. Prior to starting, I had heart issues all my life, palpitations, Wolfe Parkinson, Wiess Syndrome, I would wake up in the morning with my heart ‘beating out of my chest’, nearly passed out a couple times while driving because of my heart. Had fairly bad headaches often. I was ‘pre diabetic’ had ‘lesions’ all over my feet, peeling skin, etc. I had joint pain, my back would also lock up at times. I had a salivary duct close up in my mouth, which I’d have to bite into every couple days to pop, had this for a couple years. My dentist referred me to an oral surgeon to have it corrected (never went). Within a month of starting the bowel strength regimin that issue corrected itself. Within a month of starting clay my joint pain subsided, my skin also changed dramatically, headaches ceased. Within two months heart issues stopped, diabetic issues gone. Still realize I have a long way to go, but blown away at the improvements so far and so quick.

    I think the elimination of geopathic stress fits into this somehow.

    Jason

  4. Hey Jason,

    Great information. I am going to do further investigation. I am aware of what you are talking about and have played around with EMF protection devices, barefoot technology, etcetera. The location of where we live is important. Feng Shui is another related aspect to all of this.

    I am really glad to hear about your results with The UHP and hope that others are inspired by what you wrote here.

    Thanks very much, really appreciate your taking the time to write.

    Mary

  5. hey jason how much clay and bowel strength you taking a day

    • Hi Charles,

      I take 16 bowel strength and 4 to 7 tablespoons of clay per day. Use a blender to mix it.

      Jason

    • Hi Jason, Thank you so much for sending this information. I will pass it on in some form – part of a post? I think that is a good idea. Hope others click onto to the link you provided in the meantime. Mary

Leave a Reply

