notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN:THE HEALTHY BOWEL- A BRIEF HISTORY? NOT EVEN CLOSE

Leave a comment

THERE IS SOMEONE OUT THERE THAT IS WAY MORE QUALIFIED THAN ME TO TAKE THIS ONE ON, BUT WHAT THE HELL…

Someone once asked me if I thought if any large population of humans ever had a healthy bowel? My first off the cuff response was – of course. Thinking it over my answer is maybe. At some point in time is a more realistic answer. Thinking more, I really do not know. I think people have historically worked at it because of the foods that have been created to improve bowel health. Fermented foods from many different parts of the world have been created to effect better bowel and overall health. In turn, people think more clearly and function better. I have read that in Russia, some kind of fermented drink has been part of the daily regimen for students upon arriving at school for a very long time. This is one example of many traditional cultures that put 2 + 2 together and recognize the brain – gut connection. How come we don’t? Well, it is growing.

As you can see I am not taking on plagues and other diseases that wipe out whole populations of people due to poor immune – gut health. Way to complex for what I am trying to say here. And way more information than I have in my arsenal of sorts.

Getting back to what I was saying: This is all supposition, but it seems pretty clear to me that the increased environmental pollution [air, water soil], wide use of antibiotics, birth control pills, anti – depressants, medications in general, cesarean births, junk food nation, world poverty, etcetera are  overwhelming challenges for most humans today. Challenges that most everyone is being born with and into. Deep challenges to  creating and maintaining a healthy bowel. What I am trying to say is that it is better not to romanticize how much better things use to be and just do something about it already. I could say that no one knows the answer.But is seems crystal  clear to me that the intrinsic weakness within humans begins in the gut. That gut health has been weakening as a healthy environment for many decades. More and more science is coming to the forefront of this obvious, but inconvenient, truth. Missing Microbes by  Martin J. Blaser, MD. New York Times article.

One other link that another UHP participant sent me, that is very worth reading about the diminishment of the human internal ecosystem. Sounds like a bummer article, but we both saw it as more of this greatly ignored information being up for discussion.

Inconvenient is how I would describe doing the hard work to heal the human gut on The Unique Healing Program. More inconvenient would be having someone remove impacted waste matter from my, your  rectum while in a hospital or nursing home. Here I go again on the nursing home diatribe. I will not apologize.

HEALING DIGESTION AND ELIMINATION: WHAT DOES IT MEAN FOR US?

What may be possible is a longer life expectancy that is not dependent on medical intervention.  Health throughout our lifetimes and having wisdom until the day we leave the earth is something that, looks to me, like it could be redefined by developing a healthier digestive tract and bowel. What did I just say?  Those of us who do whatever it is we find that works to heal our bodies by detoxifying our organs, tissues, blood and rebuilding them have an excellent chance to redefine what aging really can be. I am not talking about looking like a 25 year old for the rest of our lives, but being a conscious, agile person with our wits about us and not just a shell of what  we once were. BTW, there are people out there like that and there have been over the ages. Wisdom was something that came  with age. Not so much now. This is very , very sad to me.

Whether you participate in or complete The Unique Healing Program, incorporate some of it into your own health regimen, or do whatever it is you have found, or find to heal your gut, living can be more fun at any age. Bet you did not expect that punch line. Hope you did.

notyourrawmama

 

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

