notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: THE DESIRE FOR SOMETHING SWEET

Leave a comment

Summer has just arrived here in this part of the globe and the desire for something sweet and more carbohydrates intensifies for me and most everyone I know. I also feel the desire for eating lighter, as well. Where I am living, the temperatures are already in the triple digits. This has put a big stress on me and my husband. In order to get somethings done outdoors we need to get up by at least 5 am. I am already an early riser, but because it is light as late as 8 – 9 pm it is harder to wind down and get to bet early. At 7 pm it can feel like it is 4 in the afternoon.

SUMMER AND SUGAR

Okay, so I have heard from around six different people since February about their eating Think Thin Bars to quell their sweet tooth. Donna Pessin sometimes recommends TT Bars as a replacement for energy bars that are made with sugar, dates, agave, honey, etcetera. I decided to try Think Think Bars even though they are sweetened with the artificial sweetner Mannitol. Aside from Mannitol, all of the other ingredients in Think Thin Bars are also not on my top ten list of  things to eat. Anyway, to get to the point, they did not agree with me. Of course, against my better judgement,  I ate more than one in a period of two days.  Gas, bloating and some indigestion ensued. Did a search on Mannitol and found a whole lot of other people that had the same experience. Looks like Mannitol is the culprit. Not everyone has this sensitivity to this artificial sweetener that is high is sugar alcohol. Also, all the people on UHP, who contacted me, eating these bars ended up having indigestion and gut bomb type of reactions to Think Thin Bars, as well.

WHY WOULD I EAT SOMETHING WITH MALITOL IN IT? GOOD QUESTION!

When I looked at the ingredients I thought- Hmm, that doesn’t look like a good idea. Then I thought, well, Donna recommended them to these other people. Enough of a justification for me!!! Just as a treat to get me through this period. I will never know if I don’t try them. How are those as rationalizations? Don’t tell me you have never eaten anything you knew on some level might not be such a good idea? I have to admit gas and bloating was not what I expected as a result from eating Think Thin Bars. Yes, bars – plural. I ate several, thank you very much.

Think Thin bars did not taste really good to me, except for one that was super rich in chocolate flavor. Brownie Crunch?  I kept hoping the next flavor would be better. Anyway, inexpensive – processed chocolate can be very agitating due to its acidity. Also, Think Thin bars are not organic and there are a whole lot other ingredients on the label that you will NOT find in a garden.These non food – food ingredients can lead to heartburn and worse. There are many people who eat all kinds of stuff, which they have indigestion from and don’t even “know” it. Popping a Tums or Rolaids does not equal indigestion to many. Indigestion is just what you have after you eat, right? Consequently, Tums or Rolaids is what you take to deal with it. Yeah, that is the way things roll for a large part of the US population. The healthier version of Tums and Rolaids are digestive enzymes. Digestive enzymes are not a good idea when it keeps the more “nutritionally conscious” in denial about how bad their gut really is. I have been one of those people. Enzymes taken until digestion is better or to augment digestion can be a really, really good thing. For the most part they have helped me over the years.

Why would Donna Pessin recommend Think Thin Bars? I don’t know, but here is a guess: Think Think Bars are a transitional food- snack option for those with sugar cravings on The Unique Healing Program. The amount of crap in Think Think Bars does not in any way shape or form outweigh the amount of toxic substances that are stored in the organs and tissues of western people today. People on The Unique Healing Program using Sodium Bentonite Clay, Bowel Strength, etcetera are doing deep cleansing of old waste matter daily. If they need to eat a Think Thin Bar to stay on track, so be it. The damage from TT Bars is negligible in relation to the profound cumulative healing from The UHP. I think it is that simple. Also, it is damn hard to find a bar that is sweetened with stevia. Some other bars have wheat or other triggering ingredients in them. Is Mannitol any better? It may be for some. Think Thin Bars eaten as a dessert on occasion or as a treat, could be okay. Then burping, farting, etcetera would not be the results. I don’t know. Maybe.

QUEST BARS

An example of a bar that is sweetened with Stevia is The Quest Bar. This, for some, is also a digestive disturber of the highest order. Why? Whey Protein Isolate is one ingredient that could be a problem, the high fiber – main source of carbs is another. It seems, on the surface, Quest Bars would be a better choice than The Think Think Bars. They well may be for you. The ingredients, on paper, are way better. I saw an interview with the developer of  The Quest Bar , and her intentions are good ones.

My last word on bars is not to depend on them as a meal unless in a pinch. I think these bars are better off eaten late morning early afternoon and not in the early AM or late in the day – PM. Why? The body seems to be in the highest cleansing mode at these times. It is better to eat something that is easier on the digestion early and later in the day. The general feedback is that early and late were the most problematic times. Eating them as a breakfast, and using them as a late night treat caused the worst symptoms. At least three people just found them a complete bloat maker no matter when they were ingested.

Here is a link to a book by Paul Nisson about the best times to eat. You might find some of the information surprising.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

