notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: TOP FIVE DET TIPS PART 2

3 Comments

TIP ONE: EAT LOTS OF HEALTHY VEGETABLES AND FATS

All of  The Unique Healing Program videos advice are a sure bet for what is true for many, but what  is recommended may not work for you. Either have a consult with Donna Pessin, or get very  organized and keep a journal of what is not working and make some changes. It is important to get the results you are looking for. Dietary recommendations are not universal. Not all leafy greens and other vegetables are created equal. Understanding Oxalates, vegetables high in Oxalic Acid may help you. Vegetables are not the only foods high in Oxalic Acid. For more detailed information and support in understanding Oxalates.

Important thing to note. Many people want to go on a fast track while on The Unique Healing Program. They want to loose or gain weight while healing their gut. I am pretty damn sure that there is no fast track to healing an unhealthy bowel. So, you may have to accept not looking or feeling your best for awhile. How were you looking, and most important feeling, before starting UHP? I am not trying to be obnoxious here, just honest. A little self love and self acceptance goes a long way. I am working on this one, too.

TIP ONE: EAT MORE  HEALTHY FATS AND VEGETABLES

Eating too many fats can cause problems and not eating enough can as well. Easing lots of vegetables with fat and lots of vegetables with no fat can also not work. Mostly what you are looking at here is loose stools or constipation. Too many fats can cause, for some, stools to be loose to diarrhea. For others the fats can cause a sluggishness for the liver and constipation.There are more complicated explanations, but that’s the heart of it.  Anyway this is where the correct amounts of Sodium Bentonite Clay, Bowel Strength and other crutches come into play. How do you know what correct amounts for you are? A Donna Pessin personal consult can help, reading her books, videos, and good ole trial and error. What we need changes as does what is coming out of our organs, etcetera. Wish I had a quicker and easier route.

I have heard from some people on The Unique Healing Program that eating many vegetables is not good for them and they use green powders to obtain more greens in their diet. Some use Liquid ChlorophyllHere is a link to a blended salad for easier digestibility.You can dress it up with other ingredients.

If animal proteins are too highly acidic and most carbs are too cleansing then what do we eat to feel our best? Generally, eating animal protein in small amounts is the best way to go.  If I do eat beef,  turkey or chicken  it is usually less than four ounces. I do not eat animal protein every day. I eat cheese, avocado, soft cooked eggs. I use small amounts of nut butter on occasion. Nuts are not so easy for me to digest. I find cheese and butter easy to digest. Whatever I eat I always use HCL Pepsin before meals to help with digestion. I chew really well and always eat something green with every meal, even breakfast. If I have a sandwich I use sprouted grain bread or gluten free bread. Sort of boring, but until my digestion is more improved it is way better than on and off indigestion.

TIP TWO: LESSEN THE ACIDITY OF YOUR DIET

Eating out often, unless it is at a truly organic restaurant has many stumbling blocks. Milk, regular table salt, wine or white vinegar, tomato sauce, hot sauce, FOOD COOKED IN CHEAP OILS, and many other condiments and foods are MORE HIGHLY ACID FORMING. The upshot from that is an increase in symptoms that drove us all to this program in the first place. Watch the video and read the books. Understand what constitutes MORE  HIGHLY ACID FORMING FOODS and beverages. Another thing to do, right? This one will ultimately save you time in the future and help you feel better sooner.

I have found that as I go along on this Unique Healing Program things change with what I feel well eating. An example would be that eggs prepared any other way than soft boiled would not work for awhile. Eating dense protein after 3-4 pm was okay and then not so much for awhile. Indigestion just from drinking the clay in the morning was something that I experienced in the first few months of the program. I have been able to eat more carbs as time has gone on, but if my ear itching or OCD’ish tendencies return I know it is time to cut way back. If something does not work anymore, change. Not so easy sometimes, right?

TIP THREE:  EAT EASY TO DIGEST FOODS TO MAKE HEALING EASIER

If all your cellular energy is used for digestion it will slow down your healing process. Which means that the simpler you eat the more energy your body has to heal.

Sleep is when the the body heals and repairs. Increased symptoms will rear their head in the morning. Good reason to eat light and eat foods that are less acid forming. Eating greens at every meal helps. Eating lighter helps. If you are starved in the morning and crave a denser protein meal, eat some greens with your eggs or other protein. Use Spirulina or other green foods to get protein in a smoothie. Eating fruit in the morning can cause more cleansing symptoms at a time when the body is already overwhelmed. Eating fruit or right after a protein rich meal is a poor food combo for people who already have digestive ills.

Chew, chew, chew and breathe. Chewing is the first part of digestion and what human teeth are for. Also, you may find it news that our bodies cleanse mostly through our breath. No, I am not kidding. So, breathing more consciously and often will take pressure off the other organs of excretion. I did not make this up. Also, breathing helps to tone the colon and stimulate peristalsis. So easy to forget to breathe. Staring at the computer or tv screen does not help. I need to write this and reread it to remind myself.

WHY THIS PROGRAM WORKS VIDEO BY DONNA PESSIN

Is an important video for people to watch AT LEAST twice. You probably should go back and watch it whenever you wonder, WHY AM I DOING THIS PROGRAM? Or, when you are trying to explain to someone else why you are doing Then Unique Healing Program, or why they “should”. Maybe reconsider explaining or convincing others. This could get into a really unpleasant “discussion” : ). Just tell them to watch the video, it is way easier.

TIPS FOUR AND FIVE NEXT POST

notyourrawmama

 

 

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

3 thoughts on “THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: TOP FIVE DET TIPS PART 2

  1. So basically you eat vegetables, eggs, cheese, some nuts, a little animal protein, right?
    I’m still trying to figure out everything Mary… working on it 🙂

  2. Probably one of the hardest things about this program for me has been dealing with eating fats. After starting the program, I started to feel way worse than before. I have had to re-evaluate fats over and over because on several occasions Donna told me that fats would not cause diarrhea…..but I continued to have problems. I realize (good) fats are good for you, but I was really overeating them to compensate for the decrease in carbohydrates that was required by the program. I have found that I just have to be careful and not overdue it. Also, digestive enzymes help when you overdue it. Our Illeocecal valves are pretty defective and lets you know when you haven’t treated it right. From what I have read, the ileum digests bile salts and the cecum digests carbohydrates, with this little valve in the middle. I think we have all felt that pain deep to the right side of your navel at least from time to time. Using clay can compensate for extra carbohydrates, but only enzymes can help out with digesting fat until we can get the infections under control that cause us to not be able to digest things properly. I know for myself, the more fats I eat the more yellow/green my stools become because the bile salts have not been broken down properly due to the infections in the area. There are so many things I am learning in this program and I am so thankful for knowledge/understanding that keeps building on itself. Thanks Mary for another great article…I always look forward to reading you blog!

  3. For Petra, I try to keep it simple, but that does not always happen. When I have an increase in symptoms I withdraw flour products and sweets of most any kind. It is hard. This does get worse about 5 days before the full moon. I just experienced this the past few days. It takes time to figure out what works for you.

    For Anita, That is ALL really valuable information. Especially the part about the cecum and ileocecal valve – where the pain is felt. Also, I have noticed that the yellow green is connected to the, really saying the same thing here, the liver gallbladder function. Bile salts, etcetera. This UHP process is a real learning experience that can be pretty fascinating and sometimes “just enough already”. Embraced enough of the time it will add up to a life changing learning experience.

Leave a Reply

