notyourrawmama

THE UNIQUE HEALING PROGRAM DONNA PESSIN: STRESSING OUT

Leave a comment

LOOSING CLARITY IS EASY WHEN FEELING OVERWHELMED

One of the ways my health took a big hit was by putting others needs first. Also, comparing myself to to those who, I thought, put more of the needs of others first! Compounding that by comparing myself to others who were less well and more everything else. It is very easy to find people who are less well in appearance. Obesity, people with debilitating musculoskeletal problems of different ages, the aging population increasing, I think you get the idea. Also, as a bodyworker, yoga teacher, colon therapist, nutritional coach I always had people around me that I believed were in less better shape than I. Or that is how I saw them! On the surface this is how it often appeared. I also was a caregiver along with my husband for my father after he had a stroke. When his stroke occurred I was already in pretty dire pain with a repeated hip injury that involved the partial tears and damage to the surrounding area. My dad’s problems, and those surrounding the situation, seemed much worse than my own at the time. I did get help for my injury on many different levels while helping my dad, however, I was truly operating form a place of fear and the idea of stopping all together was not even a consideration in my mind.

WHY AM I WRITING THIS?

Facing how we deal with stress is relevant for everyone whether they realize it or not. Those who receive newsletters from Donna Pessin about The Unique Healing Program during the month of  July 2014,  may understand this post more specifically. The bottom line is that it is easy not to see our own needs when we are operating from a place of extreme pressure both internally and externally – stress. One thing that I still grapple with is wanting to control the outcome of those around me. I am much, much better at not doing this, but I still find it hard at times. It is very easy to loose touch with what our own needs are when there is the pressure pattern of believing that  we need to control others for us to be safe. Also, meeting the standards of what we feel others think we are supposed to do and resenting that often creates big anger. I am speaking as someone who is far from having this resolved, but more and more often questioning my motives for what I do.

I learned something from a Oprah Deepak meditation series that asked the participants to begin to question all actions with this one thought -” What is my INTENTION?” Asking this question has helped me stop and think before I take action. It has helped change interactions with people in many realms of my life. I hope this makes sense to some others reading this post. Getting the approval of others, calling someone who you know will  verify that [ as an example : )] the The Unique Healing Program is crazy, etcetera. The list can get pretty long. It has nothing and everything to do with The UHP!

I have found recently – the past few days- that upping the Calcium I take until I feel a real difference helps me tremendously. This is true of any of the crutches that are part of The Unique Healing Program. One of the issues with communicating with others, on or off UHP, is comparing what I am doing with them. Comparing myself, grading myself. It is crazy making.

I have a very long term insomnia history, about 8 years of interrupted sleep. I am recognizing the one reason for the insomnia is that I have a very large amount of acidity stored in my body. No kidding, right?  When weather, emotional stress, general body cleansing increases I need to not act like a stubborn child and make some changes in the dosage of  the supplements I am taking, and carbs I am eating. This may sound like common sense, and it is. I am glad I am willing to face it. Sort of embarrassing, but maybe some others will read this and have an “Ah Ha” moment.

HOW DO PEOPLE BREAKDOWN EMOTIONALLY AND PHYSICALLY?

I think the first paragraph of this post begins a discussion about this topic with some basic answers. I also feel that this world of daily amped up technological bombardment, pollution, the list is long, increases the need for  some kind of constant support both physically, and emotionally. The idea of  there being no need for any of The Unique Healing Programs products or crutches on any level forever seems ludicrous to me. There are so many amazing companies that created products to enhance health. It is inspiring to me what many of these products could do for someone who has done The Unique Healing Program and is healing or healed their gut.

What do I know? Well, what I have observed in others and within myself  for the past decades. These observations tell me that needing help and asking for help are not so easy. That asking for help is very necessary to have a saner, happier and WAY less stressful life. I am working on it. If you are reading this you probably are, too.

notyourrawmama

 

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

