notyourrawmama

HEALING WITH CASTOR OIL : REMOVING CASTOR OIL STAINS FROM FABRIC

Leave a comment

SOLVING AN ANNOYING PROBLEM

Not my usual kind of post, but I had to share something I found that works to remove Castor Oil stains from cotton fabric. Does it work on blended fabrics? I think it might, but one might have to apply this stain remover immediately.

Anyway, I have used Castor Oil Packs for over 15 years  and recently started rubbing Castor Oil all over my skin. This advice came my way through [Vitality Capsules] Dr. Jennifer Daniels, MD  monthly question and answer hour, and two friends who are patients of hers. I have used Castor Oil as a massage oil in small amounts, not slathering it on, and then leaving it on to seep it. Applying a thick coat and leaving it on for 45 minutes, in some cases maybe more, is what Dr. Daniels recommends. I was very, very reluctant to do this  because Castor Oil, if you did not already know, is almost impossible to get out of fabrics. This is especially true if not addressed immediately. Sometimes even if  it is caught right away.

PLANT BASED STAIN REMOVAL

A product that I found while shopping at Bed Bath and Beyond called Whip – it is a non-chemical based stain remover. I never liked using Shout or some of the other stain removers available here in the US. I was conscious of not getting them on my skin. Anything that gets on the skin adds more pressure on the liver to detoxify.

I did have luck with Whip-it on new and not so new Castor Oil stains. One stain was on a cotton fabric that had been through a  washer and dryer cycle. The dryer cycle usually will help lock in the Castor Oil. The heat from the dryer usually spells the end of any possibility for getting a Castor Oil stain out. Whip – it was able to remove this  tough type of stain. Pretty amazing. The fabric was cotton. Again, not sure if Whip-it would remove a similar type Castor Oil stain on a blended fabric. Definitely worth trying.

I suggest buying the Whip-It  that is specifically for Laundry. I can see that he other  Whip-It, in the spray bottle, is also good. When it comes to Castor Oil I would go with something more viscous and hardcore. The Laundry Whip-It comes in the blue bottle with a dispenser at the tip. Again, it is the Whip-It that is specifically designed  to target laundry stains. This  would be my first choice.

Castor Oil is an amazing tool for healing and Whip-It makes it less of a problem if you get it on something other than where you want it to be. All you Castor Oil users know it happens.  As careful as one can be, **it  does happen : )

notyourrawmama

 

 

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

