notyourrawmama

THE HEALING GIFT OF SELF EMPATHY DR.JENNIFER DANIELS, MD

Leave a comment

HARD TO GIVE TO OTHERS WHAT WE CAN NOT GIVE TO OURSELVES

In my favorite scenario I would receive, from the majority of people I know and meet, the accepting attitude I give others concerning how they choose to deal with their health challenges. My choices are commonly disparaged by others, and it has been made very clear to me that challenging Western Medicine choices is a big no – no. Questioning one having a mastectomy  as a preventative measure, or a hip replacement as the only action to take, can be equated to taking a sledge hammer to a National Monument. So, for me, traveling on this road of “Alternative Healing”for decades has often felt quite lonely. I do have a small network of support, of which I am very grateful, of which I need to focus more upon. Some days are much easier than others.

R E S P E C T – JUST A LITTLE BIT

As I have said in other posts, I have more empathy for others and why they choose  Traditional Medicine now than ever before. I feel this way even though what Traditional Medicine calls preventive care is not my choice. The partnership that is involved in a completely Holistic Approach to healing means a great deal of self responsibility and effort on the part of the patient. A whole lot of time effort and preparation. Most importantly is having confidence in the human body, and the ability to heal when given the right tools. So, no matter who is advising me, I have found the true owness is on me in order to heal. This responsible, highly interactive healing relationship is contrary to the Western Medicine Approach that the doctor is going to fix us. I am not talking about situations that involve gun shot wounds, etcetera. I am talking about the every day visits where patients come in for a check – up. Similar to a car, and dutifully take their meds.

IT’S ALL IN OUR GENES? NOT SO FAST…

Then there is the misconception that gets many people in trouble. We are often led to believe that if a person has a  high quality “model”- good genes – or appear as they do, lots of money, have the right religious faith, or are just  plain lucky  they can eat and drink as they please until they just can’t any longer. There once was a time when there were more people who could squeeze by into their much later years without the help of medications. This is quite rare today.  Some believe that their fate depends greatly on these variables, and without them we just accept what we are “given”. Some generalizations here, but hopefully you get the gist.

I have done several types of healing protocols, many of which I have written about in this blog forum. A little over a year ago, I got to a point where what I was doing began to feel like an endless road of irritation. I was not healing. To be clear, I am grateful for all that I have done. From Macro to Raw Foods. From Juice Feasting to Juice Fasting. From the most recent past from The Unique Healing Program to the Kalcker / Rivera Program. All these protocols, and there were many others, surely kept me from becoming more ill at an earlier age. Unfortunately, I hit a wall that played out like the film Groundhog Day. The same thing over and over again with no improvement, and some signs of decline.

CLEANSING AND REBUILDING: FINDING THAT BALANCE

Fortunately, a that time when certain symptoms of mine were not improving, and the actions I was taking were not yielding the results I wanted and deserved, I met Dr. Jennifer Daniels, MD. Just to be clear, I do believe there are health practitioners, other than Dr. Daniels, that help people.  I am sure of that. So, please understand that I am not saying Dr. Daniels is for everyone. No one is. What I am saying is that if you have hit a wall and that wall is shaky, get some help. Consider getting help from a person who is constantly increasing their knowledge. Practicing what they teach through self experimentation and research. These things are key. That type of person, in my experience, is  NOT common within the world of people that advise others concerning their health and sickness situations. Take some time to find what is right for you, and use your heart as well as your brain.

I need to practice giving myself the gift of empathy every day. It is hard when I am feeling frustrated at the process of healing. A process that requests patience, a virtue that becomes easier to summon up with an improved state of health.

notyourrawmama

Author: notyourrawmama

At the age of ten I distinctly remember questioning the premise that illness just happens to us. The idea that every action has a reaction became a clear reason to doubt that I could not personally impact my own health. In my very early twenties I was introduced to the Macrobiotic Philosophy of Life and assisted a Macrobiotic Counselor in NYC over a period of ten years or more. My life took many twists and turns and I evolved from a trained dancer and performer to a Shiatsu Therapist, Yoga Teacher, Colon Therapist and student of different Spiritually oriented Mind Body Therapies at the Esalen Institute and other healing centers. My associations are as follows: Member of the AOBTA for over 20 Years Member of the NCCAOM for approximately 12 years Member of the Yoga Teachers Alliance 500 hours for approximately 12 years Colon Therapist [ Wood's Institute ] Since 1998 Along with studying REIKI [ 2nd degree ] I was part of a School based on the work of Railey Macey, Dr. Robert Jaffe and Hands of Light. Railey Macey was my teacher. Thank you for your interest in my blog. notyourrawmoma "Wherever you are be the soul of that place". Rumi

Leave a Reply

